ITER Communication

The governing board of the ITER Organization, the ITER Council, concluded its Twenty-Fifth Meeting on Thursday 21 November. This was the last ITER Council meeting before the start of machine assembly.


Senior representatives from the seven ITER Members—China, the European Union, India, Japan, Korea, Russia, and the United States—convened on 20-21 November 2019 under the chairmanship of Arun Srivastava from India.


With the execution of project scope through First Plasma now at over 65 percent, and machine assembly officially scheduled to start in just over four months, the delegates paid particular attention to preparations underway for the assembly phase including an internal reorganization, the signature of large assembly contracts, and the results of an official ITER Council independent review on the project's assembly and installation strategy.


Progress in achieving high-level ITER Council milestones, and the status of major components, systems and structures were also reviewed.


"The project continues to maintain a vigorous pace and robust performance, with the ITER Organization and Domestic Agencies working as an integrated One-ITER Team to meet the project's demanding schedule and groundbreaking technical requirements," according to the press release released after the meeting's conclusion.


The Council also expressed its gratitude to the outgoing Council Chair for his leadership and dedication, and congratulated LUO Delong (China) on his appointment to the Chairmanship starting 1 January 2020.